New Book Wednesday – Zombie Edition

I thought I was over zombie books. Then I read Paolo Bacigalupi’s Zombie Baseball Beatdown and I realized I had to own up.

20150128_090151My name is Mrs. Gillespie and I LOVE ZOMBIE BOOKS.

Rabi, Miguel, and Joe are out playing baseball when they notice a really, really, REALLY bad smell coming from the meatpacking plant near the field. Some investigation and a run in with some rather tenacious people and cows leads to greed and corruption and bad cattle feed. The feed is turning the cows into zombies. And when the meat from those cows is used to make hamburgers, well, let’s just say it doesn’t bode well for the patrons of the little league concession stand.

This is a fabulously fun and funny book that takes a look at corporate greed, and immigration and whether we really need to eat as much meat as we do. The audio book for this title was an Odyssey honor book last year and is incredibly well done. I have a copy on order – and I just checked the website and it looks like it will be delivered today!

But I’m totally over vampire books.

One response to “New Book Wednesday – Zombie Edition

  1. Laura Selinsky

    I’m not particularly a fan of zombies, but I am a fan of this author. This should be quite well written.

Leave a Reply

