App of the Week – Historypin

historypin

This has the potential to be such a cool app. Pick anywhere in the world and historypin will pull up GoogleMaps with photos overlaid on the area. Some are historic; some may be more recent. Maybe you’re in, oh, I don’t know, say France? And you just snapped an awesome picture of the Arc de Triomphe at sunset. Upload it and add it to the database. Just looking for some cool photos? Shake your phone like a Polaroid picture (if you don’t know what that is, ask your folks) and a random picture will come up.

I love old pictures and exploring history through them, so this app caught my attention. I started on the website and searched Philadelphia. I found pictures of the Sixers getting off an airplane in 1983. I found a “bird’s eye view” of Villanova from 1871. Even a photo of West Chester University’s football team from 1920.

Historypin is free and available for both iOS and Android.

I will give this out with a warning. I couldn’t quite get it to work on my phone this morning. It let me log on, but then it was stuck in a loading cycle. But my phone is a little older and I think it’s getting to the point where some apps just don’t want to work on it. Even if you can’t get the app to run, check out the website. It’s a really fantastic collection of pictures. And, hopefully, if there are bugs with the app, they’ll get them worked out by the time you go someplace cool and want to add to the photo database!

Leave a Reply

