App of the Week – Todoist

For those of you who may have made a New Year’s Resolution to be more organized, I present this week’s App of the Week: Todoist.

todoistI found Todoist as a web site a couple of years ago and loved it. It allows you to create an electronic to-do list. You can set up categories of things you need to do. For example, I have these categories set up for my lists:

categoriesSome of them are one time things (like Recommendations and Accommodations Requests) and others are recurring (like my Home Chores). Each day, Todoist shows me my tasks for the day and any that may be overdue. Here’s what’s on tape for today:

listAs I complete each task, I can check the box next to it and it will go away. Some of my tasks are recurring (see the little rounded arrows next to things like “litter” and “laundry”). So, when I clean the litter box today, it will automatically move to tomorrow’s list.

And, of course, they made an app for that. You can download Todoist for iOS, AndroidWindows, and several other platforms. Once you’ve loaded it on your device, you can set up a widget so that you can always see today’s to do list. I have it set up as the home screen on my phone and my Nook.

phone

I’ve also downloaded the windows app and put it in my startup folder so that the list pops up on my screen as soon as I start up my computer.

I’ve found that it’s a great little website and app. I don’t have to worry about keeping track of a notebook or a pad of post-it notes. The list is always there and always in my face. The free service is, of course, basic, but I haven’t really found that I needed anything more than they offer.

So, if you’re looking to be a little more organized in 2015, this might work for you. Are you already organized? Do you have an app that really helps you track assignments and things you need to do? Let me know about it!

Leave a Reply

