New Book Wednesday – Welfy Q. Deederhoth

Time to feature a new addition to the library collection. You know I love a good title, right? So how could I turn down a chance to read Welfy Q Deederhoth: Meat Purveyor, World Savior (by Eric Laster). It’s a little Hitchhiker’s Guide, a little Star Wars, a little Alcatraz. And I loved it!

welfyq

I almost gave up on it in the second chapter. All of sudden there’s Princess Nnnn and Prince Ffff and they were speaking in a strange language. And I just wasn’t sure I wanted to go into all of that. But I stuck it out and I was glad I did.

Welfy is a homeless kid in New York City. One day he finds an owner of a deli who is willing to give him a job without asking any questions. He even gives Welfy a room in the back of the deli where he can sleep. One night, while taking a box into the deli basement, Welfy trips and ends up in another universe. And in this universe, he’s The One who has been prophesied to save them. He may not know what he’s doing, but he’s got an apron full of alien weapons and deli meats.

This book was a lot of fun. If you know anything about New York City, the author gives a very intriguing explanation for all of the Ray’s Pizzas. I highly recommend this book!

Leave a Reply

