New Book – March by John Lewis

As a librarian, much of my reading should come from reviews I read in professional journals or what I hear colleagues talking about. The reality is, I pick a lot of books based on guests of The Daily Show and The Colbert Report. This is how March by John Lewis ended up in our library.
march

March is a graphic novel about the March on Washington in 1963, where Martin Luther King, Jr. gave his “I Have a Dream” speech. John Lewis was also there. He was the sixth speaker of the day (King was the tenth). And, I learned from the book, the only speaker who is still living. Lewis is now a congressional representative from Georgia. March is the story of how he came to be involved in the civil rights movement. I read about half of it last night and have found it really interesting and engaging.
For those who are interested, here are the two parts to his interview with Stephen Colbert.

Leave a Reply

