Free Books

Let’s give a whole new meaning to the phrase “Free people read freely.” I have recently come across a few opportunities for free books that I thought I’d pass along.

First…and really, this fits with Halloween and books with a little bit of a dark side to them. One of my favorite books in recent years is Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy. The books are well written and witty. The audiobooks are read by the phenomenal Rupert Degas. If you’ve heard Jim Dale’s magnificent narrations of Harry Potter…Rupert Degas blows him out of the water. I got my cousin (who is also a librarian) hooked on these as well. Lauren also keeps up with Derek Landy’s blog and she was quick to tell me about his free offer (if you read his blog post about the free books offer, you’ll see a shout out to Lauren Longbottom…that’s my cousin, and, yes, that’s her real name). Mr Landy refers to American fans of SP as his “Ameriminions.” For us, the digital versions of the first three Skulduggery Pleasant books are now available, with new cover art from Tom Percival (I used to be a theatre techie and like to make sure everyone gets their credit). To celebrate this, we “Ameriminions” can get a digital copy of the first Skulduggery Pleasant book, Scepter of the Ancients for free.  Just go to your favorite online bookseller (amazon if you’ve got a Kindle, Barnes & Noble if you’ve got a Nook, iTunes if you’re using iBooks) and search for Scepter of the Ancients. Through October 31st, it’ll be free. If you don’t have an e-reader, you can download any one of many e-reader applications to your computer…there’s one for Kindle and the Nook.

The second free offer comes from the Bluford Series. The Bluford series follows a group of students at Bluford High (named for America’s first black astronaut…and, yes, I did just link to Wikipedia). So the publishers have made audio versions of all 15 of the books available for download for free. These are very well written and well reviewed books.  I have downloaded them all as well, so if you don’t want to download them yourself, see me and I can load it on to your iPod or mp3 player.

If you need help accessing any of these titles, just stop in and I’ll help you.

Enjoy! I know I will.

One response to “Free Books

  1. I’m starting SP tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

