Free Audiobooks

Just a reminder for anyone who is interested. The Sync audiobook program started yesterday. Each Thursday a contemporary young adult novel is paired with a classic which shares a theme. This week is Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver, a story about a girl who falls in love with a werewolf (yes, it’s kind of the werewolf version of Twilight). Its classic partner, about a more terrestrial pair of star-crossed lovers, is William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

If you’re interested, you can download these books here. You will need to sign up for audiobookcommunity.com (you won’t get any unwanted email…I’ve been on it for a year). You will also need to download Overdrive software, if you don’t already have it (again, this is a reputable piece of software…all of the libraries use it for their downloadable audiobooks and ebooks, I have it on my computer).

Since we’re talking audiobooks, I finished listening to The Emerald Atlas the other day. What a great book! It’s the first in the trilogy and I can’t wait for the next two! I’ve had trouble finding my next audiobook. The first book I tried was a science fiction book, the narrator was good, but the story was a little hard to get into. It was set in a not too distant future, and some of the things going on were hard to follow I want to try reading it again, but for now I passed on it. The next two books had narrators that weren’t so good. So I quite each one about 10 minutes into it. Now I’m listening to a book called The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson. I’ve listened to her books before and know that she’s a good narrator (she reads her own books). It’s an interesting story so far, involving a woman who sees ghosts in her sleep. I’m well into the second section of it, so this one’s a keeper.

Leave a Reply

