Book #1

So, I spent most of my first morning of summer break finishing up the book I was reading so that I could get off to a fresh start for summer. I woke up really early and sat in the corner of the couch all morning reading. And I did it! So, as summer officially starts, I have a fairly clean reading slate.

So, time to pull out my first book. I’m starting light. Ms. Falcone lent me her copy of Tina Fey’s Bossy Pants. I’m not a big 30 Rock or Saturday Night Live fan, but I did like the movie Date Night. I also heard that there’s some stuff in the book about Upper Darby Summer Stage and that intrigued me. So, that’ll be my first book.

I usually have three books going at once. The physical  book I’m reading, one on my Nook and and audiobook. So, I’m finishing up my Nook book, My Life in France by Julia Child.

I just started listening to a GREAT audiobook. It’s called The Emerald Atlas. Think A Series of Unfortunate Events meets Harry Potter.  5th and 6th graders (although you’re the 6th and 7th graders) I think you’d like this…it’s similar to Alcatraz. The best part is, Jim Dale reads the audiobook. He’s the same narrator who read the Harry Potter books and he’s one of my favorites. It’s the first in a series of three books called The Book of Beginning. Three orphans (although they’re not really orphans, they’ve just been separated from their parents), have been bounced from orphanage to orphanage and have finally ended up in Cambridge Falls, which has no trees, unfriendly people, no children and lots of magic.

And for those of you who like audiobooks, don’t forget about the free audiobooks available all summer long. They start on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

